Connect with us

Chicago Blackhawks

Puckdoku Profiles: Blackhawks Record Holders



Editor’s Note: Updated 9:26 to reflect Patrick Kane on the Hart List: A veer off of the usual path of profiles and instead looking at some of the single record holders from Chicago Blackhawks players. While it’s been either a nemesis or a few players from the past, here’s a look at some of the record holders within the organization. Here’s the Puckdoku profile for today.

Blackhawks With Over 100+ Penalty Minutes

Let’s have some fun with this one. Plenty of Blackhawks hit this category–all long before the 2000’s. Here’s the top 10 in terms of PIM in the franchise’s history:

  • Mike Peluso – 408; 320
  • Dave Manson – 352
  • Bob Probert – 326
  • Bryan Marchment. – 313
  • Steve Smith – 304
  • Al Secord & Wayne Van Dorp 303
  • Dave Manson – 301
  • Keith Magnuson – 289

Hart Memorial Trophy Winners

So here’s what’s insane about this one. When Patrick Kane won the Hart Memorial Trophy in 2016, it had been 48 years since a Blackhawks player had last captured the league’s award for the most valuable player. A look at the list:

  • Patrick Kane (2016)
  • Stan Mikita (1966-67; 1967-68)
  • Bobby Hull (1964-65; 1965-66)
  • Al Rollins (1953-54)
  • Max Bentley (1945-46)

A little on the players outside of Mikita and Hull, who are Blackhawks legends. Bentley is in the Hockey Hall of Fame and didn’t have the greatest start to a career. Passed over by both the Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens, the latter’s doctors informed him that a heart condition would eventually kill him. He’d find his way to the Blackhawks, and be the first in franchise history to win the Hart Memorial Trophy. Bentley would be traded to Toronto three seasons later, where he would go on to cement his Hall of Fame career.

Rollins, a goalie, would win a Stanley Cup with the Maple Leafs before being shipped to the Blackhawks. The interesting point: Rollins won the Hart Trophy in 53-54 despite having a 12-47-7 record.

Ponder that. He lost 30 more games than he won yet was awarded the league’s most valuable player. The Blackhawks were atrocious but because of what Rollins accomplished in the six-team league, he took home the honors. A Vezina winner in 1951, Rollins is one of the few Hart Trophy winners to not be in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Previous Puckdoku Profiles: July 12  (Denis DeJordy; Sergei Krivokrasov; Paul Coffey) | July 13 (Eddie Olczyk, Marc Bergevin, Bob Sauvé) | July 14 – The Blackhawks Nemeses: Ciccarelli and Torres

Discover more from Chicago Hockey Now

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading